Join Our Ford Truck Forum Today

Document your Ford truck project here and inspire others! Login/Register to view the site with fewer ads.

Good evening Guys, Newbie here....

Hi there, I just bought my first 53 f100 this week and am looking for some help in putting her together....
The body is done and waiting for a motor, I am thinking a 302 for a mustang or a t-bird, or LTD..
And the 5 speed tranny from mustang..

What do you guy think?

Also would like to lower her all around? What are my best routes?

Thanks
Dan

Attachments

• 2012-07-309516.38.23.jpg
  • 2012-07-309516.38.06.jpg
  • 2012-07-309516.38.36.jpg

taxreliever

Licensed to Represent!
Maine
dbranco said:
Hi there, I just bought my first 53 f100 this week and am looking for some help in putting her together....
The body is done and waiting for a motor, I am thinking a 302 for a mustang or a t-bird, or LTD..
And the 5 speed tranny from mustang..

What do you guy think?

Also would like to lower her all around? What are my best routes?

Thanks
Dan

Beautiful truck! Welcome!

DNFXDLI

The Token Canadian
Staff member
Welcome to FTF..nice truck!

mtflat

Flatheads Forever
Hi Dan,
Very nice looking truck you have there. That engine/trans combo should work out fine - with a couple of cautions.

If you're using bucket seats - no problem. The mustang shifter is located clear at the back of the trans output shaft - which locates it under your bench, or real close to it.

One solution is to find an S10 shifter/tailshaft housing and use that behind the mustang T5. That places the shifter forward, close to the stock location.

Welcome!

polarbear

just growing older not up
Boring, Oregon
I am seriously in love with that truck!

Oh... Welcome to FTF!
seeyamustang.gif

I was also thinking about painting the grille black, or getting it chromed?
I was planning on lowering it and put some nice chrome wheels on her for now.
She is all stock, matching numbers truck with 83k......