Join Our Ford Truck Forum Today

Document your Ford truck project here and inspire others! Login/Register to view the site with fewer ads.

Smoken 6.0

So I have a 06 with 100k miles. Never had a problem, until I let it sit for a year. Now that I started driving it again, it smokes like a chimney!!! (Bluish white). Only when I'm pushing about 1/4 throttle, but it will smoke up the whole block!!! It doesn't smoke at all at idle, and seems to lesson once I floor it and the turbo kicks in. Also, i noticed the truck is having a hard time hitting operating temperature. It's winter in Chicago, though so in the 30-40 degree Fahrenheit range. Other than mentioned, the truck runs like a champ and has plenty of power. Any ideas of where to start? I'm new to working on/with diesels. Thanks in advance.

d-kuzmen

Master Ford Tech
Connecticut
Are you still burning the fuel that was in it when it sat? If so I would burn that and fill with good clean fuel and put some miles on it to see if it changes. Also possible you have some sticky injectors from sitting. You may want to get it scanned even though the check engine light it not on there maybe some codes stored..

Are you still burning the fuel that was in it when it sat? If so I would burn that and fill with good clean fuel and put some miles on it to see if it changes. Also possible you have some sticky injectors from sitting. You may want to get it scanned even though the check engine light it not on there maybe some codes stored..

Oh, I forgot to mention that. No, I've actually burned through several tanks of gas now thinking that might of been the problem. Is there a way to check the injectors without just replacing them all?

blacksnapon

Staff member
Injectors, egr valve, sticky thermostat (warming up issue), dried up valve seals, turbo seals, fuel quality.

d-kuzmen

Master Ford Tech
Connecticut