Join Our Ford Truck Forum Today

Document your Ford truck project here and inspire others! Login/Register to view the site with fewer ads.

352/360 oil pressure problem

Hello All,
I am new to the FE motor but got am trying to learn since I scored a nice 65 with a 352. The issue I am having is this. The 352 that was in the truck when I bought it had a lot of blow by out the PCV and oil breather caps. When engine was warm, oil pressure would drop to zero on gauge and oil light comes on. This motor also had a bottom end knock so I bought a used 360 to replace the 352 until I can rebuild it. The 360 ran very well with oil pressure on gauge reading between 15 and 30 psi under all conditions. I put a few hundred miles on it and all of a sudden it has the same oil pressure drop when you come to a stop sign, engine warm at idle in gear. Once you bring the rpms back up or put trans in nuetral, the pressure will slowly climb back up. The oil in the truck is quaker state 10-40 and freshly changed. The 360 had sat for a long time before I installed it. Can anyone give me some idea of where to start trouble shooting this problem or a solid fix for it?

Thanks

blacksnapon

Staff member
Hello All,